Commit 96231d0c authored by Nate Graham's avatar Nate Graham 🔩

Revert "Change default settings for automount"

This reverts commit 2cb4ef4d.

This change is not needed due to the new UX in the Disks & Devices
applet, which addressed the primary complaint about automount in
different way. Going back to the prior behavior also addresses several
other concerns about the new default from security and multi-user
perspectives.
parent b0af2127
......@@ -12,10 +12,10 @@
<default>true</default>
</entry>
<entry name="AutomountUnknownDevices" type="Bool">
<default>true</default>
<default>false</default>
</entry>
<entry name="AutomountEnabled" type="Bool">
<default>true</default>
<default>false</default>
</entry>
</group>
</kcfg>
  • @ngraham

    This change is not needed due to the new UX in the Disks & Devices applet

    I disagree. For external hard drives that applet does not appear, because they are always plugged in for me.

    Also see https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=427891#c4.

    several other concerns about the new default from security and multi-user perspectives.

    Basically I am aware of two, both not that severe.

  • For internal drives there is currently no problem; at the moment when you want to access the disk, you click on it in the places panel (or wherever) and it mounts itself automatically.

  • I was talking about external drives (that are in my case always plugged in) and thus the applet does not appear.

  • I think you need to re-read my comment because it doesn't have anything to do with the places panel. :)

  • I read it several times now and still don't get what you want to say there. First of all because your write "internal" drives, not "external" what I was talking about.

    because it doesn't have anything to do with the places panel

    What do you refer to with "it" here? Your comment above clearly talks about the places panel (which I did not bring up at all, thus I am even more confused now):

    you click on it in the places panel

    So I think we can agree that there is misunderstanding but I am still not sure on which side (or both).

  • Pinging you, so you are aware of my reply. @ngraham

  • I am aware.

  • Perfect. Then I hope you'll find the time soon to write a reply, so the misunderstanding can get sorted out :)

  • I don't think there's anything more to discuss, really.

  • Hm, then I'd like to ask you to read the first comment of me here again:

    This change is not needed due to the new UX in the Disks & Devices applet

    I disagree. For external hard drives that applet does not appear, because they are always plugged in for me.

    Also see https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=427891#c4.

    several other concerns about the new default from security and multi-user perspectives.

    Basically I am aware of two, both not that severe.

    So to be clear, I don't think the reasons you gave in the commit description justify a revert.

    Also there has clearly been misunderstanding in the following conversation above (as detailed in 96231d0c (comment 152924)) that is still not sorted out.

  • I already addressed those points earlier. I don't feel like continuing this conversation because arguing with you is exhausting and I would like to save my energy for working on productive things.

  • Right, after thinking I agree that you addressed the point of not working bookmarks in Dolphin and partly GTK file pickers (where it worked for you from the sidebar while the disk did not show up there for me). This was in your blog, so I did not notice the overlap of those topics with the quote from me here.

    Regarding the misunderstanding, I might see what you meant now, but am still not sure. But that probably doesn't matter much at this state.

    If Dolphin bookmarks can be achieved to work then the biggest problem will still be GTK filepickers like in Firefox that are currently unable to open the last used locations by default. Maybe that can also be worked around (or ideally all distros make Firefox use KDE file dialogs), let's see.

    For now I guess I'll have to create just another MR to revert your revert and continue discussion there.

  • mentioned in merge request !276

    Toggle commit list
  • For clarification: Until now I did not discover the MR for this and only discussed on the commit's page, since I thought this has been committed right away without the MR stage. Plus reading the more humble MR description feels nicer than the more shruff commit description.

    I think it might have been good to ping me here before merging.

    I have created yet another MR now to revert the revert: !276, let's see what the discussion brings. At least I can see that a seemingly majority of KDE contributors seems to prefer this option to be off by default.

Markdown is supported
0% or .
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment